12 things I’ve learned after my first semester of college

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
College is a brand new chapter, a fresh start. It’s also the time of change with so many new experiences and opportunities. As winter break rolls to an end, I thought I would compile a list of things I’ve learned after my 1st semester of college.
1. Hard work pays off
This is so cliche, but true. Remember this when you are 1 page down into that 10 page research paper.
2. Never underestimate the power of an oversized sweatshirt and leggings
Do I need to say more? : )
3. Staying motivated is key
Motivation drives success. Do whatever you can to stay as motivated as possible. 
4. “Free time” is simply a myth
There are ALWAYS assignments to be done, tests to study for, and essays to write. So in reality any “free time” you may have is probably just procrastination.
5. Writing everything down makes life a LOT easier
I would be lost without my planner. I always write down assignments and due dates for every class. Having it all in one spot makes it a breeze.
6. A 9:30am class will still feel like you’re waking up at the crack of dawn, especially if you’re not a morning person
I’m not a morning person…like at all. It doesn’t help when you realize you have to walk in the freezing cold too.
7. Dry shampoo is an essential
That is all.
8. Coffee isn’t an option, it’s a necessity
What can I say, between my Keurig and on campus Starbucks, it was bound to happen.
9. Crossing things out from a planner is so satisfying
Seriously though, I’m not lying when I say this. You get the satisfaction of finishing a task and scribbling it off your list all in one.
10. Goals: make them
Having goals keeps you productive and motivated no matter how big or small they may be. They’re also a great reminder to work hard towards what you want.
11. The ideal time to do laundry is Friday nights 
Busy laundry rooms are the absolute worst. I think this one speaks for itself.
12. At the end of the day, make sure you are still spending time doing something that you LOVE
It’s so easy to get caught up in all the homework or obligations we have to do. We sometimes forget to take a step back and do something we love. Whether it be a fun hobby or watching your favorite Netflix show, make sure that you make time to do those things. Find that happy balance. : )
Untitled
Leave a Reply

