Why I’ve been eating healthier + my favorite salad recipe

Today I wanted to switch it up and talk about food. And in specific healthy, good for you food. Something has officially come over me this summer where I have been craving wholesome and healthy meals. I honestly believe it might be due to the fact that I can finally cook again (dorm life is rough lol), no longer forced to eat on campus, and the healthy mindset I’ve started to adopt. By no means am I an expert on how to achieve the perfect balanced meal nor do I follow a strict diet, but I find myself so much more satisfied after eating a delicious filled meal that has real ingredients. I’ve been really gravitating towards salads because they are totally customizable. You can really put anything on a salad which is one of the reasons I love it so much. Then it doesn’t feel like you’re eating the same thing over and over again.

Processed with VSCO with c6 preset

(whoops, forgot to snag the picture before I started cutting the avocado lol)

My go to lunch has been salads, each day with a new twist. For greens, I have found a new love: arugula! I had previously never had arugula before and can I say, my life has been changed for the better! It’s definitely not for everyone as it has it’s own very unique taste (tangy, I’d say) but I love either having it on my salad plain or adding spinach or mixed greens with it. It adds so much flavor and if you’re up to try something new I’d definitely recommend.

I’ve also been loving quinoa on my salad. It adds a tasty texture and I also feel like it makes it a little more filling. To save time I like to make a bigger batch and put it in the fridge, that way I can easily heat it up and put it on my salad without having to wait.

These are the “staples” of my salad making. The rest totally depends on what I’m feeling that day. Some of my favorite things to add are avocado, onion, carrots, green pepper, cherry tomatoes, hard boiled egg and chicken.

Processed with VSCO with c6 preset

I’ve also been adding a little bit of this Wishbone dressing to all my salads. Light vinaigrette style dressings are my absolute favorite. This one is so tasty!

Here are a few of my favorite combinations I’ve made.

Processed with VSCO with c6 preset

(arugula, mixed baby greens, quinoa, baby carrots, onion, avocado, chicken, roasted garlic citrus dressing)

Processed with VSCO with c6 preset

(arugula, quinoa, avocado, cherry tomatoes, roasted garlic citrus dressing)

Processed with VSCO with c6 preset

(arugula, mixed baby greens, hard boiled egg, carrots, chicken, quinoa, roasted garlic citrus dressing…would’ve added cherry tomato as well but ran out)

The possibilities are truly endless! : ) Not to mention, salads are so photogenic and I have to admit most of the time I snap a pic before diving in!

Eating good makes me feel good. I feel more energized, satisfied, and just overall better with myself. A small salad can go a long way : )

Thanks for reading!

Untitled

6 thoughts on “Why I’ve been eating healthier + my favorite salad recipe

  1. mymanandme03 says:

    What pretty salads! When I’m lazy, I use a basic wafu dressing. Simply combine equal parts shoyu and Japanese grain vinegar. That’s it!

    If I want to add some variation, I heat up the sauce with chopped garlic or ginger for about 2 minutes, then pour it over the salad. Voila!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

